Pulaski County

Excel by Eight in Pulaski County

The E8 coalition in Pulaski County is led by the City of Little Rock, with Dr. Jay Barth, Chief Education Officer, serving as chairperson. E8 is one of four committees on Mayor Frank Scott’s Lifelong Learning Cabinet, the city’s broader effort to support children and youth from birth to career.

In Pulaski County, E8 is narrower in scope, focusing mostly on the capital city. The effort launched in March 2020 by implementing the Early Development Instrument (EDI) in the Little Rock School District. The EDI is a population measure of how children are developing based on the five domains of early childhood development: physical health and wellbeing; social competence; emotional maturity; language and cognitive skills; and communication skills and general knowledge. The steering committee is currently involved in the research phase, which is a critical first step in identifying needs and priorities that reflect local context.


    Home to state government

    Major industries are healthcare, aerospace, and banking and finance

    Little Rock Central High was one of the first sites of integration following the Brown v. Board of Education ruling

    Steering Committee

    Sarah Argue, Pulaski County Imagination Library

    Natalie Baber, Our House

    Patty Barker, Arkansas Hunger Relief Alliance

    Dr. Jay Barth, City of Little Rock

    Larry Clark, Life Skills for Youth

    Ryan Davis, Children International

    Lisa Donovan, Central Arkansas Library System

    Kathy French, AR Kids Read

    Sandra Galvan, Mexican Consulate

    Tyra Greenwood, Arkansas Home Visiting Network

    Arisbeth Johnson, Alas/Wings

    Esther Jones, Little Rock School District – Early Childhood Education

    David Kuchinski, Centers for Youth and Families

    Tiffany Lepard, Foster Parent

    Desirae McBride, Our House

    Jacqueline McEuen, Little Rock School District – School Health

    Mike Ramirez, Hope Credit Union

    Al Richardson, Life Skills for Youth

    Rhonda Sanders, Arkansas Foodbank

    Ray Scott, Health Information Technology

    Anna Strong, Arkansas Chapter, American Academy of Pediatrics

    Wendy Ward, University of Arkansas for Medical Sciences

    LeCole White, SafeCare

    Read more about E8 Communities

    Increasing Quality Child Care in Conway County

    When American Rescue Plan Funds arrived, Debbie Mize, director of Child Care Aware of Northcentral Arkansas, knew the best way to invest it in Conway County would be to increase the number of quality child care options. The Conway County E8 Community spearheaded a...

    Tackling Food Insecurity, Improving Outcomes

    Tackling Food Insecurity, Improving Outcomes

    Patty Barker, Arkansas No Kid Hungry Campaign Director Access to healthy food isn’t a luxury for Arkansas families. It’s a necessity for children’s long-term success. Studies show students who struggle with persistent hunger report lower math scores as well as higher...

    School Readiness in Cedar Ridge

    School Readiness in Cedar Ridge

    Photo courtesy of Cedar Ridge School District. How can we measure children’s development? We must rely on insight from those closest to them. Throughout the school year, teachers have the opportunity to witness key facets of students’ cognitive, emotional, physical,...